Inside out

Some poems and reflections on life

Jaipur 1991

Leave a comment

Recollection of a conversation at a backpacker’s hotel in Jaipur in 1991.  Delhi to Agra to Jaipur is ‘tourist central’ in India, which bring with it large numbers of people constantly approaching and selling to tourists. This can be an overwhelming experience for the traveler (to say the least). It is where the clash between tourist and local can be felt the hardest. It wasn’t just being confronted by the poor and the lame begging on the streets. The really frustrated part were well educated young men seeking to make an easy living from scamming tourists.

I have traveled twice to India and developed a huge respect for the people and country. This poem gives voice to just one view of the experience of being a traveler in one part of the country.

“I am prey to be taken …
I am bait in a trap …
A wallet to be scammed.

“I thought I knew
this place I can’t stay
I thought I knew
these people don’t make sense
I thought I knew
but nothing is right”

“I am prey to be taken …
I am bait in a trap …
A wallet to be scammed.

“Every time I
walk out the door they call me
Every time I
go down the street they sell me
Every time I
see a face I second guess

“I am prey to be taken …
I am bait in a trap …
A wallet to be scammed.

“I no longer
trust
I want
to be safe
I want
a holiday”

Leave a Reply

